New video up! This complete’s the warrior segment of tanking. There won’t be one for warrior gearing, as the paladin gear video covers the exact same stuff.

Ok, since WoW is by far the game I play the most, it will be the game I blog and make video’s of the most. Since I’m primarily a tank and that’s pretty much all that I play as, your going to see everything from a tanking perspective.

The purpose of these videos is to help people understand how to tank with thier given class effectively in a raid setting. Generally, what works for raids works for 5 man heroics, but I am aiming for raids. Big boy stuff you know.

Anyways, I love tanking. I have 3 tanks, a warrior, DK, and my main which is a paladin. I have a druid which is currently 54 and will be my 4th tank. The current plan is to have the DK videos starting in 2 weeks from today, and will be divided into 4 segments (abilities/rotation, and 1 video for each tree since you can tank in them all). This is mainly due to the massive, massive flexibility a DK has compared to any other tank when it comes to choosing which spec to use. At the end of this, hopefully my druid will be 80 and have some gear and raid time in, and I can do a tutorial of druid tanking. 

Additionally, when 3.3.5 is released, I’ll have some videos of that as well, how to tank them and whatnot.

The reason I do this is two fold. First, everyone has to start somewhere in learning how to do thier role. Some people, like myself, go to Elitist Jerks, read until my head hurts (so….20 min?), and go try out what the expert theorycrafters suggest. Other people search youtube for videos like mine. Some go to sites like Tankspot or WoW.com. Others just wing it. I like the feeling that I’ve contributed to making the general tanking population better, because there are so, so few of us.

That leads me to the second point. For so few tanks, there are so many bad tanks. Seriously. What’s with this rush nowadays to get instances done that you have to pull 7-10 trashpacks without stopping, only to die because you didn’t give the dps time to catch up and kill anything or the healer to heal you? Then you die, blame everyone else, and quit, wasting yours and 4 other people’s time because your in a hurry. Most instances nowadays can be done in under 15 min by any group that is competent enough to navigate to the random dungeon queue. Or better yet, tanks who get thier heads stuck up thier ass that they feel entitled to belittle other people for nothing more than they are new and gearing up.  And lets not get into tanks who pulled some random spec out of thier ass, walked into a random heroic, threw on a sword-n-board while wearing all dps gear and expect to do the above mentioned power pulls since they saw others do it. I can even understand not knowing a particular fight, but when has standing in the fire ever been good? How about void zones, or any of the instant dead graphics that most bosses put out? Never right? SO DON’T STAND IN IT! NO I DON’T CARE IF YOUR ICC25 GEARED AND THIS IS HEROIC FoS, MOVE!

O.K., just had to get that out of my system. Well, there you have it. I do hope the tanking videos filled in the blanks and helped you become a better tank.
 

 

 

